Changing lifestyle


Well, it is the Autumn officially and as that is the time of theyear when I feel new challenges should be attempted I am aiming here to document my changing lilfestyle.  I enjoy making my own jam, chutney and cakes and biscuits.

 

I cook things from scratch and rarely use prep prepared food.  I have about 1/6 acre of garden and I have a very small greenhouse and a tiny lawn.

 I also enjoy knitting mainly socks and making quilts. My aims are to be more green and less involved in the rat race to slow down. My first steps were the usual ones everyone makes

Recycling

I recycle bottles, cans, paper and cardboard, vegetable peelings, eggshells, tetrapacks, batteries, clothes, shoes. I shred important documents and add them to the compost heap.

I bought 2 compost bins to take the garden waste and set up a wormery, I made an additional compost bin out of a blue tub.

Reducing energy.

I sent off for a free electricity monitor so I could monitor what energy is used. I had a new boiler and central heating system installed as this is more efficent and our old system was over 25 years old.

I bought a second hand breadmaker so we can make our own bread easily this is less costly than buying bread.

I lined all the curtains and hung a floor curtain in front of the front door to stop draughts.

I turned down the temperature in the bedroom radiators and turned the thermostat down to 19 degrees when we are at home and 15 when we are out. We put a sweateron if we are cold.

I grow my own fruit raspberries, gooseberries, strawberries, rhubarb, pears, apples, plums, damsons redcurrants and blackcurrants and I grow some of our vegetables. my garden is small and not too sunny with all the fruit I grow.

Reduce

I reduced the amount of meat and fish we eat and the amount of waste we produce. I attached guttering to the shed and put two linked water butts fed from the guttering to collect rainwater and reduce out water usage. I reduce the amount we spend on food and I buy locally sourced food where possible.

My aims for the future

For the immediate future I would like to buy a large water butt and link it to water collected on the house roof. I would like to grow more vegetables next year. I am planning to put a water saving device in the toilet cistern to save water.

I am planning to learn about beekeeping and possibly get my own hive.

 

For the longer term future I would like  keep bees, to have our own chickens for eggs and our own rabbits for meat. and possibly our own pidgeons for meat. Ideally I would love to have the space for livestock but at the urban fringe I think this is the best we can manage.

If  I am made redundant I would like to get an allotment without being made redundant I don’t have time for this

Leave a Reply

